Delete a Meeting

Learn how to cancel a meeting, including recurring meetings, in Boardable.

J
Written by Jocelyn Gombos
Updated this week


TABLE OF CONTENTS


I. Introduction

Meetings can be deleted by people with the following roles:

  • Organization Admins

  • Meeting creator/owner

  • Meeting collaborator

When a meeting is deleted, all its content (including its tasks, polls, agendas, and documents) is also deleted. Deleted meetings cannot be restored on the interface.

When a meeting is deleted, invitees are sent an email update notification. This notification removes the meeting's event from their personal calendars. For single-day meetings, meetings in a recurring series, and complete multi-day meetings, it can include customized text (i.e. a note about the cancellation reason.)

After a meeting is deleted, the following details continue to display in the Deleted Meeting List:

  • Meeting title

  • Meeting date, if set

    • Represented in text, and in a calendar icon

    • No date listed for find-a-date meetings

  • Meeting time, if set

    • No time listed for find-a-date meetings

  • Groups added, if any

  • Admins, observers, and members invited, represented by their profile pictures

These details cannot be permanently removed from the Deleted Meeting List.

When a meeting is deleted, any tasks or polls created from the meeting page are also deleted. These deleted items cannot be recovered.

To remove a meeting from invitees' calendars and prevent them from viewing it on the platform without deleting its tasks and polls, empty the meeting's invite list instead of deleting the meeting. To learn how to do so, please see Related Articles.

II. Delete Single- / Multi-Date Meeting

To delete a single or multi-day meeting:

  1. Navigate to the meeting page

  2. Click More Actions

  3. Click Delete Meeting

    1. The Delete Meeting menu pops out

  4. To add a customized message to the cancellation notification sent to invitees:

    1. Click into the text box labeled Type your message

    2. Type desired customized message

  5. Click Delete Meeting

    1. The meeting page is deleted from Boardable

    2. Invitees receive a cancellation notification containing the custom text added during step 4, if any

    3. The meeting's event is removed from invitees' calendars

III. Delete a Single Meeting in a Multi-Day Meeting

Note: custom cancellation text is not supported when removing a single day from a multi-day meeting.

To delete only one of the meetings setup in a Multi-Day Meeting:

  1. Navigate to the meeting page (to learn how to do this, please see Related Articles)

  2. Click Edit Meeting info

  3. Click the X next to the day to cancel

  4. Click Continue

  5. Click Save

    1. The date selected during step 3 is removed from the Boardable meeting page

    2. Invitees receive a cancellation notification for the date selected during step 3

IV. Delete a Recurring Meeting Series

Notes:

  • Past meetings in a series cannot be deleted in bulk. For meetings whose meetings are all Past or Today, the Trash button is not available on the meeting series page. To delete past meetings in a series, please use section V.

  • Custom cancellation text is not supported when deleting a series; this is only possible when deleting individual meetings within a series. To delete specific meetings from a series with custom cancellation text, please use section V

To delete all upcoming meetings in a recurring meeting series:

  1. Navigate to the meeting page (to learn how to do this, please see Related Articles)

  2. Click More Actions

  3. Click View Meeting Series, opening the Meeting Series page

  4. Click the Trash button at the top right side of the page

    1. This option is only available for recurring series with upcoming meetings

  5. Click Delete

    1. The meeting pages for all future meetings in the series are deleted from Boardable

    2. Invitees receive cancellation notifications for future meetings in the series

    3. These meetings' events are removed from invitees' personal calendars

V. Delete a Single Meeting in a Recurring Series

To delete a single meeting instance in a recurring meeting series:

  1. Navigate to the meeting page of the specific meeting you intend to delete (to learn how to do this, please see Related Articles)

  2. Click More Actions

  3. Click Delete Meeting

    1. The Delete Meeting menu pops out

  4. To add a customized message to the cancellation notification sent to invitees:

    1. Click into the text box labeled Type your message

    2. Type desired customized message

  5. Click Delete Meeting

    1. The meeting page is deleted from Boardable

    2. Invitees receive a cancellation notification containing the custom text added during step 4, if any

    3. The meeting's event is removed from invitees' calendars


Related Articles

Did this answer your question?