Close and Archive a Discussion

Learn to close and / or archive discussions, as well as view, re-open, and unarchive in Boardable.

Operations Team avatar
Written by Operations Team
Updated over a week ago


TABLE OF CONTENTS


I. Close a Discussion

Only Organization Admins included in the discussion, or the individual who created the discussion, can close a discussion. When a discussion is closed, it is still included in the list on the Discussions page, but it no longer allows additional messages or editing of messages that were sent.

To close a discussion:

  1. Navigate to the discussion and click on the discussion name

  2. Click the three dots to the right of the discussion name to open the discussion menu

    1. Click Close Discussion

  3. The discussion is now closed and a banner appears at the bottom of the discussion

To re-open a discussion:

  1. Click the three dots to the right of the discussion name

    1. Click Re-open Discussion

  2. The banner is removed and messages can be added

II. Archive a Discussion

Only Organization Admins included in the discussion, or the individual who created the discussion, can archive a discussion. When a discussion is archived, it no longer allows additional messages or editing of messages that were sent. The discussion is also removed from the default list on the Discussions page.

Discussions moved to archive will not be deleted automatically. They can still be deleted at any time by an Organization Admin included in the discussion or the individual who created the discussion. Otherwise they will remain in archive.

To archive a Discussion:

  1. Navigate to the discussion and click on its name to open it

  2. Click the three dots to the right of the discussion name

    1. Click Archive Discussion

  3. The discussion is now archived and a banner appears at the bottom of the discussion

  4. The page may need to be refreshed before the discussion disappears from the list

III. View Archived Discussions

Archived discussions can still be reviewed, and even unarchived (only Organization Admins or the the individual who created the discussion can unarchive). Anyone who was involved in the discussion, can also view the archived discussion.

To view an archived discussion:

  1. Click the left discussion filter at the top of the discussions list

  2. Click Archived to view all archived discussions

To unarchive a discussion:

  1. Navigate to the discussion and click on its name to open it

  2. Click the three dots to the right of the discussion name

    1. Click Unarchive Discussion

  3. The banner is removed, the message is moved back to the standard listing, and messages can be added


Related Articles

  • Overview of Discussions: learn the basics of having discussion in Boardable, along with sorting, filtering, and how to leave a discussion

  • Edit or Delete a Discussion: learn who can edit a discussion, delete a discussion, or remove messages from a discussion

Did this answer your question?